Palliative Care » Ontario Medical Association » Ontario’s Doctors: Putting Ontario’s patients first

Palliative Care

Palliative care is an interdisciplinary care that focuses on early identification, assessing monitoring and relieving pain and other symptoms including physical, psycho-social and spiritual concerns. Palliative care can be provided by family physicians, nurses and other healthcare workers, not only palliative care specialists. Palliative care is appropriate even when you are pursuing cure focused medicine; it affirms life and regards dying as a normal process. Below you will find links about palliative care and information to assist you to locate palliative care services in your region.

  • OMA’s Backgrounder on Palliative Care This background paper (backgrounder) provides additional context on our goal to improve access to palliative supports and services
  • What is hospice palliative care?
  • What to expect when death is near
  • WATCH – The Truth Of It Video Series: Palliative care: Patient experience – Dr. Larry Librach

  • WATCH – End of Life: A Patient and Doctor

  • WATCH – End of Life: A Public Service Announcement

    The following links will provide you with contact information within your own region to find palliative care services.

  • Click here to locate your Local Health Integration Network (LHIN)
  • To contact your local Community Care Access Centre (CCAC) use the links below:
    CCAC Contact Information
    Erie St. Clair https://healthcareathome.ca/eriestclair/en
    Southwest https://healthcareathome.ca/southwest/en
    Waterloo Wellington https://healthcareathome.ca/ww/en
    Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant https://healthcareathome.ca/hnhb/en
    Central West https://healthcareathome.ca/centralwest/en
    Mississauga Halton https://healthcareathome.ca/mh/en
    Toronto Central https://healthcareathome.ca/torontocentral/en
    Central https://healthcareathome.ca/central/en
    Central East https://healthcareathome.ca/centraleast/en
    South East http://healthcareathome.ca/southeast/en
    Champlain http://healthcareathome.ca/champlain/en
    North Simcoe Muskoka http://healthcareathome.ca/nsm/en
    North East http://healthcareathome.ca/northeast/en
    North West http://healthcareathome.ca/northwest/en

End of Life Planning & Care

Back to Top